research > mercury
Exchange of mercury between the atmosphere and continental surfaces
Figure 1. Drop of liquid mercury
Mercury (Hg), neurotoxic element, is naturally found in the environment. Various human activities, however, increase the atmospheric emissions of this metal for 150 years [1]: coal and oil combustion, mining, waste treatment... The anthropogenic emissions reach the remote areas of the planet. The average atmospheric concentration is higher in the Northern Hemisphere (1.5 ng∙m−3) compared to the Southern Hemisphere (1.3 ng∙m−3).

This metal is liquid at room temperature (Figure 1); it is therefore semi-volatile, and so, facilitating its reemission to the atmosphere. There are various chemical forms (elemental, divalent, particulate, and methyled) and various chemical reactions (redox, adsorption, and methylation). This makes its biogeochemical cycle relatively complex, encouraging many scientific research on its understanding.
Mercury exchanges between the atmosphere and continental surfaces are measured using two different approaches: dynamic chambers and micrometeorlogical methods. We compiled and synthetized measurements found in the literature in a global database [2]. The range showed both emission (positive fluxes) and deposition (negative fluxes) more or less high depending on the class characterized by both atmosphere and soil mercury concentrations (Figure 2). In background sites, bidirectional exchanges showed different trends in the ecosystem: emission of Hg from soils, while vegetation plays a role of sink of Hg. 
 
Several environmental variables, such as temperature, solar radiation, and humidity, are known to influence Hg exchange in a given study site [3]. Statistic correlations decreased or disappeared when different sites were taken into account. This showed that the inter-site variability offset the controlling factors. Only the soil Hg concentration influence our data set in enriched sites despite the natural variability.
Figure 2. Synthesis of mercury fluxes measured for each class of contamination
Figure 3. Mercury exchange estimates by land cover on different scales
Global-scale estimates are frequently done using parametrizations based on correlations more or less adapted on field measurements. We calculated estimates using all data compiled in the database applying surface area for each land cover on both global and the U.S. scales (Figure 3). Vegetation was included, except for forest environments where whole-ecosystem measurements are complex. We therefore combined both forest floor exchange and vegetation measurements. The last measurements using bag chambers are complex and highly uncertain.

Overall, we estimated an emission of 607 Mg of Hg per year, including 129 Mg∙a−1 for background sites and 478 Mg∙a−1 for enriched ones. This is lower than previous estimates, while global models evaluate a higher contribution from contaminated areas.
In polar environments, Hg dynamic follows to seasonal cycles linked to snow cover and atmospheric chemistry [4]. During springtime, concentrations decrease in the atmospheric boundary layer because of Hg oxidation. Tundra soils are rich in organic matter and play an important role in Hg cycling.

We monitored for two full years Hg, ozone (O3), and nitrogen oxides (NOx) in the atmosphere and gas phase of snow and soil in the Alaskan tundra (Toolik Field StationFigure 4). Complementary chemical analyzes were performed on snow, soil, and vegetation. Preliminary results showed that soil and vegetation play a role of Hg sink, especially during the winter season. Gas transfer is clearly identified from the atmosphere to soil, through the snowpack, without Hg reemission by oxidoreduction reactions as observed in temperate sites.
Figure 4. Landscape of arctic tundra at Toolik Field Station
References 
[1] Lindqvist O. – Atmospheric mercury - a review. Tellus serie B 37: 136–159 (1985) 
[2] Agnan Y. et al.New constraints on terrestrial surface-atmosphere fluxes of gaseous elemental mercury using a global database. Environmental Science & Technology 50 (2): 507–524 (2016) 
[3] Ericksen J. A. et al.Air-soil exchange od mercury from background soils in the United States. Science of the Total Environment 366 (2–3): 851–863 (2006) 
[4] Steffen A. et al.A synthesis of atmospheric mercury depletion event chemistry in the atmosphere and snow. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 8: 1445–1482 (2008)

recherche > mercure
Échange de mercure entre l'atmosphère et les surfaces continentales
Figure 1. Goutte de mercure liquide
Le mercure (Hg), élément neurotoxique, est naturellement présent dans l'environnement. Cependant, depuis 150 ans, les émissions vers l'atmosphère ont été multipliées par trois du fait des activités humaines [1] : combustion du charbon et du pétrole, exploitation minière, traitement des déchets... Ces émissions anthropiques atteignent les zones les plus reculées de la planète ; la concentration atmosphérique moyenne atteint une valeur légèrement supérieure dans l'hémisphère nord (1,5 ng∙m−3) comparé à l'hémisphère sud (1,3 ng∙m−3).

Seul métal liquide à température ambiante (Figure 1), son caractère semi-volatile favorise fortement sa réémission vers l'atmosphère. Il existe de nombreuses formes chimiques (élémentaire, divalent, particulaire ou méthylée) et les réactions entre ces formes sont variées (oxydoréduction, adsorption, méthylation...). Tout ceci rend le cycle biogéochimique du mercure relativement complexe, encourageant de nombreuses recherches scientifiques portant sur sa compréhension.
Les échanges de Hg entre l'atmosphère et les surfaces continentales sont mesurés à partir de deux approches distinctes : les chambres dynamiques et les tours micrométéorologiques. Une base de données a été mise en place pour synthétiser l'ensemble des mesures publiées dans la littérature [2]. La gamme obtenue montre à la fois des émissions (flux positifs) et des dépôts (flux négatifs) plus ou moins importants selon les classes caractérisées par leurs teneurs en Hg dans l'atmosphère et dans le sol (Figure 2). Dans les sites non contaminés, les échanges bidirectionnels indiquent un partitionnement au sein de l'écosystème : des émissions de mercure émanent du sol alors que la végétation joue un rôle de puits de Hg.

Plusieurs variables environnementales – température, rayonnement solaire, humidité – sont connues pour influencer les échanges de Hg dans un site donné [3]. Or, les corrélations statistiques diminuent, voire disparaissent, lorsque différents sites sont confondus, indiquant que la variabilité inter-sites compense les facteurs d'influence. Seuls la concentration en Hg dans le sol des sites enrichis reste influente.
Figure 2. Synthèse des flux de mercure mesurés par classe de contamination
Figure 3. Estimations des échanges de mercure selon les paysages à différentes échelles
Les estimations à l'échelle globale dépendent de paramétrisations modélisées basées sur différentes relations plus ou moins adaptées aux mesures de terrain. À partir de l'ensemble des données compilé, des estimations ont été calculées en appliquant les superficies des différentes occupations des sols aux échelles globale et des États-Unis pour chaque type de paysage (Figure 3). La végétation est inclue dans chacun d'eux, à l'exception du milieu forestier ne permettant pas d'intégrer l'écosystème dans son ensemble. Cette estimation tient alors compte à la fois de mesures effectuées pour le sol forestier uniquement et pour la végétation seule. Cette dernière mesure, délicate car réalisée dans des chambres spécifiques, présente de grandes incertitudes.

Au total, nous estimons une émission de 607 Mg de Hg par an à l'échelle du globe, incluant 129 Mg∙a−1 par les sites non contaminés et 478 Mg∙a−1 par les sites enrichis. Cette valeur est inférieure aux précédentes estimations, alors que les modèles globaux évaluent une plus forte contribution de la part des zones contaminées.
Dans les environnements polaires, la dynamique de Hg suit les cycles saisonniers en lien avec le couvert neigeux et la chimie atmosphérique [4]. Durant le printemps, les concentrations diminuent au sein de la couche limite de l'atmosphère en raison de l'oxydation de Hg. Les sols de toundra, riches en matière organique, jouent un rôle important dans le cycle de Hg.

Un suivi sur deux années consécutives a été réalisé dans la toundra en Alaska à Toolik Field Station (Figure 4). Mercure, ozone (O3) et oxydes d'azote (NOx) ont été mesurés continuellement dans l'atmosphère et dans la phase gazeuse du manteau neigeux et du sol, et des analyses complémentaires ont été réalisées sur des échantillons de neige, de sol et de végétation. Les résultats préliminaires montrent que le sol et la végétation joue un rôle de puits de Hg, particulièrement pendant la saison hivernale. Le transfert gazeux est clairement identifié depuis l'atmosphère jusqu'au sol à travers le manteau neigeux, sans réémission de Hg par des réactions d'oxydoréductions comme observées sous des latitudes tempérées.
Figure 4. Paysage de toundra arctique à Toolik Field Station
Références 
[1] Lindqvist O. – Atmospheric mercury - a review. Tellus serie B 37: 136–159 (1985) 
[2] Agnan Y. et al.New constraints on terrestrial surface-atmosphere fluxes of gaseous elemental mercury using a global database. Environmental Science & Technology 50 (2): 507–524 (2016) 
[3] Ericksen J. A. et al.Air-soil exchange od mercury from background soils in the United States. Science of the Total Environment 366 (2–3): 851–863 (2006) 
[4] Steffen A. et al.A synthesis of atmospheric mercury depletion event chemistry in the atmosphere and snow. Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics 8: 1445–1482 (2008)